Amble High St. Methodist Church

Amble High St MethodistThis rather splendid building played a significant part in my childhood. It was here that my parents were married. Their wedding photo was taken on the steps at the front. I was christened here too. We went there every Sunday morning throughout my formative years. The chapel was upstairs and underneath was a hall and stage where, as a member of the Methodist Youth Group, I had my first stage performances. I have a very embarrassing photo of me in crepe paper, acting the part of a flower, which I am not planning to post here 🙂  I went on to become a Sunday School teacher in my teens. Many happy memories of people who had a big influence on me as I was growing up.

Unfortunately it no longer exists. It was demolished when I was in my teens and we moved to the other Methodist church in Percy St.

A big thanks to Stan from the facebook group “Amble in Old Photographs” for sharing this photo and being generous enough to allow others to use it to stir a few more memories.

3 thoughts on “Amble High St. Methodist Church

  1. Love your blog Linda and did all the same things at the same places. Dovecote Street, Cross Street, Edwin Street, Craiggs bus to Alnwick for 7 years. Do you still have your JMA medal ?

Constructive comments and new relatives are welcome:

