The Waters of Tyne

Oh, where is the boatman, my bonny hinny?
Oh, where is the boatman? bring him to me
To ferry me over the tyne to my honey,
And I will remember the boatman and thee

The Water of Tyne

I am finding an increasing number of relatives in the 1700s who found their better halves on opposite sides of the River Tyne. People who lived in Cullercoats and married in South Shields or lived in North Shields and found their partner in Boldon. I understand that before full dredging operations were implemented that it was possible to walk across the river at low tide, so maybe this explains how easy it was to find a spouse in the next county.

Constructive comments and new relatives are welcome:

