Categorisation completed

Status

Categorisation now completed with an alliterative allocation. I had fun trying to figure out how to sort my material then find alliterative category names. In addition to the categories I named in my last post I have now included: Claiming cousins, Crackett connection, Finding forefathers, Locational legacy, Obscure occupations, Research resources, Seeking surnames and Yesterday yarns. The challenge now will be to remember to use the categories when I make new posts. I can already see the advantages. Just browsing through a category can give ideas for new posts. I have not done a full QA of the categorisation yet so if you come across something that looks wrong please drop me a comment so I can fix it.

Changing categories

When I first started blogging I was a bit befuddled about categories and tagging. I initially used categories for surnames in my genealogy research but soon found that was not working for me. As a result I have not categorized more that a handful of posts. Having now gained more experience of writing and viewed many genealogy blogs by other authors I can now see how categories can be used to make the blog easier to navigate. All of the old categories are going to be removed this weekend and I am going to try out a new set. My set of posts named “xx years ago today” will be categorised under:

  • Bygone birthdays
  • Wedlock when
  • Documenting demise

Among my other new categories are:

  • Alphabet activities
  • Publishing progress

I have now learned how to use the bulk edit function, so as the weekend progresses you should see most of my posts moved out of “uncategorized” and over to their new category. You can review the contents of each category from the panel at the right of the blog.