Editing Ellenor

Ellenor Turner – Wedding portrait 1915

I have a postage stamp sized photo of my granny Ellenor Turner on her wedding day in 1915. This picture has suffered the ravages of time and after 97 years the emulsion is badly scarred. I was contemplating taking the photo to a professional photographer for restoration, but decided to investigate other options first. I was lucky enough to find a restoration thread on rootschat and having tried it out I am amazed by the results. The original is on the left.

Ellenor Turner – restored

In the restored version on the right it surprised me to see that my granny was actually quite a “bonny lass”. I selected this one as the restoration that was closest to the original features. If any of you are interested in seeing the alternative restorations, including a colour portrait, that were offered take a look at Restoration – Wedding portrait ET on rootschat.