111 years ago today

Turner family plot in Amble East Cemetery

My great great grandmother Barbara Turner, née Barbara Murray, died at Amble in Northumberland 15 May 1901. This was 5 years to the day after the death of her father George Murray. Barbara was born in Alford in Aberdeenshire, lived part of her life in Coldstream on the borders and lived her married life and raised her son in Amble. She is buried in the Turner family plot in Amble East Cemetery.

This post about great great granny Barbara has the honour of being a milestone in my blogging, bringing me to a total of 100 posts and 45 pages. It also counts as a catch-up post for having missed my postaday yesterday 14th May.

116 years ago today

George Murray, Agnes Dickson Murray and William Murray in Lennel churchyard

On my Easter break I flew into Edinburgh as Ryanair have now stopped their Oslo-Newcastle route. I used the opportunity for a leisurely genealogy research afternoon, driving down the A68 and A697 so I could stop off at Coldstream on the Scotland/England border to hunt for my Murray ancestors. I found 3x great grandfather George Murray, his son William and his 2nd wife Agnes Dickson in Lennel graveyard just outside Coldstream. The headstone leaning over close to the ground is theirs and old George attacked me with a nettle sting as I tried to get underneath to photograph the inscription. He died on 15 May 1896 at Amble in Northumberland, so I was a little surprised to find his name in Lennel graveyard. I plan to publish more photos of the headstone and tell a litte more about his story at the weekend.