Grooming George the groom

George Crackett – Wedding portrait 1915

In my Editing Ellenor post I showed original and restored versions of a wedding portrait for my Granny Crackett (Ellenor Turner). I have also used the same restoration board on rootschat to ask for help with a restoration of her other half. The original photos were the size of a postage stamp. My granda’s photo had a badly damaged surface and was missing part of the left arm. Once again I have been impressed by the offers of help and quality of the restorations.

George Crackett – restored 1

I am undecided about which of two restorations I prefer so I am going to show both of them here (if I can figure out how to do that without the whole post looking very messy).

If you would like to see all of the restoration suggestions then take a look at Restoration – Wedding Portrait GC.

George Crackett – restored 2

Something which has surprised me about this is seeing that my granda was actually quite a good-looking young man. He also appears to the far right in the banner photo at the top of my blog. To see him as a boy and as the old man I knew take a look at my 26 May post 122 years ago today.

Drop me a comment to let me know which of the restorations gives the best rendition of the original.

Post formats – trying an aside

Aside

Not sure I have full control over what happens when I try a different post format. This one is “Aside”.  Curious to see how it will appear. Just tried applying “Status” format to a post I made yesterday and lost the heading. Have previously tried “Quote” and did not understand what I was doing. There are a few more to play with too, but I think I may have to admit defeat and read the help info first or I might end up with some very weird-looking posts. Definitely need to learn how to use the “Gallery” format so I can do some better presentations of my old photos and cemetery pictures.