270 years ago today

My 5x great grandparents, Caleb Nesbitt and Susannah Chator, were married on 22 May 1742 at St. John’s, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. This is one of the older dated events I have in my tree. Caleb and Susannah were parents of my 4x great grandmother Jane Nesbitt who married Adam Carr. I have not yet researched whether they had other children.

193 years ago today

My 3x great grandparents, Robert Parkinson and Mary Ann Reay, were married on 22 May 1819 at All Saints, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. They had 7 children. Their middle child, John Parkinson, was my great great grandfather. The transcription of the marriage record on both findmypast and freereg gives her name as Mary Ree. Additional notes on freereg say that the bride’s name was recorded as Mary Reay on the banns. Both are stated to be “of this parish”. Witnesses were James Gordon and Jonan. Scott. I have no information on whether the witnesses may have been friends or relatives. Unfortunately, neither site gives any more information about their abode or fathers’ names.