Amble East Cemetery plot list

I found a plot list for Amble East Cemetery during my visit to the Northumberland Archives this week. So far I have tied in 13 of the names on the list to my tree and expect to tie in a lot more. Surnames are Crackett, Henderson, Smith, Stavers,Turner and Webb, but Murray and Robinson are also represented in the middle names. I already knew about 9 of the 13 from my trip there a couple of years ago to photograph headstones. The other 4 have given me new information. I have published a list of family members on my Amble East Cemetery page.

(This is my catch-up post for Wednesday 4th April when I missed my postaday)

Children of Joseph Hall of Elsdon and Eleanor Thompson of Rothbury

I have now confirmed by viewing microfilm of the parish records that my 4x great grandparents Joseph Hall and Eleanor Thompson had 7 sons and 3 daughters. A full list of their children with baptism dates can be found on my Hall page.

(This is my catch-up post for Tuesday 3rd April when I missed my postaday)

Status on plans from March 31

On March 31 I posted a short list of holiday research activities that did not include sitting in the archives. Status is now:

  • Coldstream tollbooth – Done. I also managed to fit in a trip to the Coldstream museum and found Gas Lane where my Murray ancestors used to live. The site of the gas works now seems to be sheltered housing.
  • Coldstream churchyard – Done. I was a bit confused to start with as I arrived at the church in Coldstream to find it had no churchyard. After enquiring in the museum I made a trip out to the neighbouring village of Lennel where I made some interesting Murray finds in the churchyard. Unfortunately a significant part of it has been shut off as unsafe since the land is sliding towards the river.
  • Ulgham churchyard – Done. I found some Watsons, but not the ones I was hoping to find.

(This is my catch-up post for Monday 2nd April when I missed my postaday)

Status on plans from March 20

In planning my Easter holiday I listed up 8 items to follow up at the Northumberland Archives or NDFHS. After three trips to Woodhorn I can now report that I have worked on 5 of the listed items, but only one of them can now be crossed off as complete. On the plus side I have eliminated some options from my other enquiries and I discovered that some of the records I was reviewing to answer the questions had additional information that was useful, so I spent more time on those records rather than hopping over to the next question.

The one item I have successfully cleared from the list is checking that I had documented the correct father for 3x great grandmother Margery Hall born 1803 in Elsdon, Northumberland. I had conflicting information from two different transcription sources giving her father as Joseph and John. I have now reviewed the microfilm of the church records and confirmed that her parents were Joseph Hall of Elsdon and Eleanor Thompson of Rothbury parish.